top of page

Anything Is Possible

"It always seems impossible until it's done."

- Nelson Mandela

 

After reading the above quote and reflecting on it, I came to the conclusion that it could be applied to just about any aspect in life. Going along with the other posts here on my blog, I was easily able to connect it back to fitness and the goals I had set for myself in the past. Two summers ago I went into the summer with an incredibly positive mindset, confident that I would spend the summer getting fit. Since I was a little kid I was always athletic and active, but that summer in particular I had changed my fitness goals and started to actually enjoy working out. That positive attitude lasted about two solid weeks, and by the third I found myself wanting to sit on my couch and eat a bag of chips. After days of trying to convince myself to get off my but and actually do something with my time, I found myself motivated again. I can't fathom how many times this happened over the rest of the summer, but by the end of it I had somehow managed to reach my goals and was happy with how the summer played out. After reading this quote I thought about this summer specifically because of all the downfalls I had. Every moment that summer that I found myself losing motivation and having no drive made me remember how impossible I thought my goals were. At the back of my head I always knew that I could do it, though at those moments I found that I was telling myself that I couldn't really complete them. I kept telling myself that my goals were unrealistic and a far stretch and they really did seem impossible at the time. Once I had finally reached my goals, looking back on the time I spent working to get there felt great! Once it was done with I felt so good about myself and was positive that I could do anything now. Today, I find myself doing the same thing I did that summer. I bring myself down when I lose my motivation or I tell myself that I'm incapable of something. Though, over time I have realized that if you devote your time and energy to something for long enough, eventually you will be rewarded. Although at a certain point in time, your goals or ideas may seem unrealistic and impossible, just remember that if you really want something, ANYTHING is possible.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page